The Hunter

I look into the water, growling. I see a human, a woman. At least that’s the same. I remove the wolf skull that hides my new face, removing, my old one. A sob breaks through the quiet of the forest, mine I realize. Growling I snarl at the reflection. Even I must admit she’s beautiful, sleek, strong, but human. Her eyes are a bright gold, bright with the reflection of light in the dark night. She snarls and sharpened teeth gleam before she, before I, look away. Taking the skull I place it back upon my head. I will not forget, I will not take this quietly. Raising my new face to the bright moon, my new face, smooth, serene even in my rage and sorrow. My small nose and elegant mouth, my bright eyes narrowing. I release something, I feel it start in my chest before I open my mouth. Before I let the sound escape I smile as I realize I have not lost this.

I smile as I howl.

I sit in the darkness, crouched, waiting. Clothed humans, in strange materials, using their, firearms, weapons that spit metal and fire. These ones, they hunt the ones I called family, the smaller one hears my growl and I grin beneath my old skull. My eyes, bright in the darkness bring it to an eerie life even as simply wearing it makes me feel feral, wild again. My prey stalks forward, wolves howl in pain, I would help them soon. I still smell of wolf, not of these sickly apes. As they take the last step I see my attack as I plan, diving out, faster than they can dream of moving I hamstring the young one, not a cub, no, a first time hunter. The old male turns to me screaming at me a world fury before I bring my old claw across his throat. I hear a click and I look up, the furs covering me make no sound, they can see none of my form, only furs and bones and my old wolf skull, it scares them. The one pointing the firearm at me now is shaking, a young female, I frown. I do not like this but she will come back otherwise. So, moving slowly forward she aims, her body shaking still, like a doe circled by the pack. She can not see my grin as I anticipate the kill, I slide to the side as I see her form tense and she fires a bit wide of where I was. Not bad, no she does not want to be here, I see her look at the young male on the ground, her mate, passed out from pain but not dead yet. Perhaps I can do more than simply scare and kill here, I might be able to use this, later, on a different pack. This one, I have killed one of their own and I can not have stories told. Snarling I run towards her, using that speed that comes with my body, that speed that makes their own form seem a pale substitute. I cripple her leg, and she cries out and falls, dropping her gun.

She looks up at me, her eyes pale blue, tears forming as fear overwhelms her. I snarl, and she back away, than I bring the hilt across her face. Quickly I drag them to my home, and deal with hiding the knife wounds, it is not hard, there is deadfall everywhere and human bodies are so very frail.

The couple wakes up in the hospital, they think it was a fever dream. I tell them the old man and them suffered injuries from a deadfall, the doctors agree. They thanks and I warn them away from that forest, I also tell them that it is private property. When they ask who’s I laugh, and I smile, they shiver seeing something I can’t truly hide in it as I answer with the simple truth.

It’s mine.

It has been several months now since the change. I am lonely, I have put gates up around certain areas, and made sure the locals know this place is dangerous. With the dead fall and the wolves it is not a place to hunt. They asked to clear the wolves and I refused, saying they are bothering no one, they are living, the forest and its land is mine. When I awoke as this I found several things to point me towards why I am like this. It seems our Father, the First Alpha, decided some of us need to walk amongst their kind, to protect ourselves. Coyote has done this for a much longer time than ours, and the human’s Huntsman finds it favorable to have some of his hunt with us, we all do what we can to save our homes, our forests. They had, money, and numbers to use to contact those I needed to. It is still hard to talk at times, my voice comes out a with a growl to it, my claws are sharper and my thin form, while that of a frailer person, is much stronger than most. It is also apparently, quite lovely, and attracts attention I would rather not have. In the end though it helped, I purchased, just thinking it makes me want to snarl, but I own the land I once was a part of.

Now, now I have no pack. I am going to find the others, they say my kind is not uncommon, but I do not wish to leave the forest. I can recall my old self now, though I am much, much larger, I am told that this is because we are made to be as the first was, large and sleek, filled with that primal power. I can feel it, thrumming through, that wolf song that was once all that I was is now so much more, it flows and ebbs through out me, filling my mind and soul. I will take myself, to their cities, their towns and learn more of them. My head was filled with knowledge I could not sort through at first, but I know it now. I am in a small part of a larger territory called the United States, some northern area. I go now to another one, a large city called New York. I will find others like me, even if they did start human. They should want to protect the hunt, and our kind, as much as I.

The City And It’s Wonders

Running on all fours through the city, I smile, my muzzle pulling up to reveal my teeth. Lifting my head I sort through the scents. I can feel power in some of them, some cold, some like the light of summer. Some speak of cold earth and sweet blood and darkened days. That one seems very close, I decide to follow it. Running faster than these silly humans can see, and so quiet even another wolf would have to scent me first, I quickly gain on that scent. I stop and crouch down, not that it means much, I am a very beautiful wolf, but also quite large. The size of a large buck really. My fur is a dark gold with some streaks of silver through, a large band of it wrapping up and around my muzzle and over one eye. Looking forward, my eyes easily see through the power wrapping her, and I frown.

She is a small wisp of a thing, no taller than me, and her eyes gleam a strange red in the dark. She smiles and waves at me and I frown. Holding a hand out to me a blue pleasant light comes into being as she says. “My my, I’ve never seen a werewolf so dumb as to go TOWARDS one of my kind. Come on out dear, let me see you better.” As I meet her eyes I feel her try to pull at me with her power, I snarl and snap at the air, saying very firmly in my own way NO and she smiles fangs showing as she comes towards me.

Deciding to not fight, I do not know enough of this place to do so, and not wanting to do it here anyway, I walk forward my form becoming translucent as my fur falls off my shoulders, now long gold and brown hair falling to my back. My claws shift to my waist as my tail loops around them holding them in place and a thick cloak of fur is clasped around my neck. I look at her now, in my human form from beneath my skull. I cock my head to the side and ask what I wanted to from the start “What are you? You smell of blood and earth and night. It is a pleasant smell, but one of a predator, yet you wear the body of prey. What are you?” She looks at me shocked and starts to laugh.

“By the Dark I never thought to meet one of your kind. You are Wolfborn are you not? You are, new, to being, somewhat, human?” I nod and she looks at my skull and shudders. “Can you take your skull away and let me see who I talk to?”

I growl low in my throat, I will not remove it here, though it doesn’t matter, I have had it attempted to be taken before, it does not care for it. It tore the thief’s hands off. Once I shift it comes back to me anyway, I do not need it on to recall my form, it is simply one of the, tools, of what my title. It is still mine though. I stop my thoughts and look at her as she holds her hands up and looks at me, her small form coming only to my chin. I will not attack her though, her weakness is clever lie, she is strong to attack her would be folly, especially here. I can smell her pack on her.
\
She glides forward, her movements so graceful as to be strange and puts her long, delicate fingers on the side of my old skull. Not stopping her I let out a huff and she laughs and I remove it and she steps back, a gasp coming from her as I grin. Than she steps forward again and puts her small hand to my cheek. Letting out a huff, I look at her, studying her as she lets me know, with posture and touch she means me no harm. Nodding at her, she smiles and skips backwards, quite a feet on four inch heels. I do not care for such shoes, but she seems to pull them off rather well.

Looking at me she curtsies, the small movement a respectful nod from one alpha to another. “I am Tira, who might be you be?”

I grin and talk, my rough voice with its growl making her shudder, though her scent tells me it is from something very different than fear. How, strange. “I am Mira, Mira Lykos. Daughter of the First. Would you be” I pause, trying to think of the words, this language is lost on me at times. “Would you and your pack be so kind as to grant me permission to be in your territory? I come looking for more of my own. I found not scent of them, and out of those I did your’s seem to be the, closest, to what I would like to meet. The others seemed, wrong somehow. Off putting.” I snarled a bit at the memory of the strange cold scent and that of the sweet summer. They were familiar, but not something I wanted to find here. They were to pure to be true, summer and winter each outside of season? Unlikely. The trees are just shedding their green, Winter has not yet come and Summer had just fallen to Autumn. No, those where something other, and I had no wish to reveal myself to them.

Lifting my head, I take a step back as two others swiftly appear. One snarls at me, his fangs showing he is one of Tira’s. Before his alpha can stop him he curses at me “Wolf, if you are in front of HER you will know your place! KNEEL!” His power slams me and I snarl, I am an ALPHA. Meeting his eyes my wolf skull flickers than reappears, once more masking my face. I snarl and the skull snarls with me, the sound like a call to death. Crouching forward I move towards, shooting out like a shot of light into the darkness. Coming up behind I raise my foot and kick him in the back, startling him forward.

My wolf raises to the surface and I snarl as I push him to the ground, the jaws of my skull mask around his through, my claw digging into his chest. he struggles and I shake his throat. I will not kill him, but he will respect me. I hear Tira sigh “Sigmund, I told you one day you would get cocky. Submit, you will not win. She is new to this and quite a bit more wolf than human, you will not get mercy from her. She is more likely to eat you than she is to do that.” His eyes widen and I start to scent fear, good, I snarl again and shake him until his skull rattles. I hear a whimper and he averts his eyes. Standing, so quickly as to make it seem that I had never attacked him at all my skull flickers again, this time now hanging behind me, as if it was a hood. My claws sheathed at my belt I turn to her and lick my lips. Now I am hungry with nothing to hunt.

Tira sighs again “Now you have truly caused a problem, she is Wolfborn Sigmund, not a Werewolf. She is also, like all Wolfborn, an Alpha though perhaps more of one than most. She is a Daughter of the First. You will treat her with respect, or she will handle it as she did just now.” Sigmund rises, his throat slowly healing the wound I gave it as he goes on to one knee, kneeling and with his head lowered, showing his assent to this decree. Turning to me Tira claps “Well Mira, lets go to where I live, I will tell you what you need to know from there. Well that is” She sniffs and frowns “Stupid dogs, you hunt a wolf!” I smile as she notices what I did from the start, I had been followed, by a pack it seems. A large male with long black hair comes out of the dark followed by a shorter female. They carry them selves regally, the alpha pair of the pack here. Seeing me they snarl and the male leaps for me, following his drive to attack the interloper on his territory. I laugh and knock him down and smiling walk into my old form. Looking down at them as they change their pack comes from the shadows. I frown, these frail things may be stronger than a true wolf, but they will not match me. Yawning I turn and lay down. They may be bigger than most wolves but not by much, I am still much larger than they are. They attack, and their teeth and claws barely tickle, like pups at play. I let out another yawn and Tira laughs.

“Mira, you are truly cruel.” I open one large eye and grin before rousing myself to teach the pups a lesson, I do not want their pack, just left alone. Coming up suddenly I use my bulk to knock them away and quickly zone in on the alpha pair, weaving through them I pick the male up by his scruff and push him to the ground, than just as quickly, begin to groom his fur. Everything stops as I do, and he seems shocked. There is some shame, but more chagrin I think. Nosing him away I quickly grab the alpha female and do the same. When I feel their fur is cleaned enough, I go through, weaving through their futile puppy antics and do the same to each one. Finally done I stop and look them over as I let my self slip back into walking on two legs. They look at me glumly, much like the pups I chastised in my old pack. Letting out a laugh I nod to the alpha and turn back to Tira.
“Not cruel, kind. They are pups compared to me, it would be same result if Sigmund and his tried to fight you yes?” She laughs again, like a musical chime it fills the air and I grin with her amusement.

The large male and the female come up to me, wonder in their eyes as well as some well needed humility. I nod to them and reach up and ruffle the males hair and then pull his chin down to greet him, rubbing my nose against his before moving to greet the female the same way. She smiles and kisses my cheek and whispers “A human greeting for you sister.”

I chuckle and pat her head than turn to Tira and motion to her. “Lead the way friend.”

She laughs again and shakes her head “To think a wolf pack coming to my lands as friends and not, well I’ll explain later but I will say, at least I am no longer bored.”

Leave a Reply

