Myself

Seeing myself in the light of day

A new brand of thinking

A hope for the way

A way to find who I was

And who I am meant to be

A version of myself

For me and the world to see

I am not a monster

For all I pretend to be

I am not simply my words

Written on the page

Not yet another character

In the stories I tell and say

Recreated through recreation

No more, not again

I realize my mistake

In seeing my demons as me

And not for seeing me for who I am

I see the truth now, I see clear

I am myself, it is such a simple thing

Yes such a hard thing to take

A bitter pill, a blessed weight

Something to enjoy, not one to remake

I am myself, I am me

And simply put, that is all I ever wanted to be

Leave a Reply

