Behind my Eyes (My Muse does Laugh)

The shadows are in my mind, behind my eyes

The itch is there, in my fingertips

I see a story, barely forming

Waiting to be born

I want to hasten it, make it quicken its turn

But alas, however much I try it comes no faster

It will come in due time, and not a moment before

Yet I can hear my muse laugh in my ear

As I sit and wait, a day, a year

The story I need, the story I want

Its there, right behind my eyes

It makes my fingers itch, with want, with need

To fulfill the story, to make it breathe

But it sits, a seed inside my mind

Waiting til the time is right

For me to let the words in

For me to give it life

Leave a Reply

