A Letter – In Reply

Dear Ms. James,

I appreciate you telling me about your mother, perhaps, appreciate is the wrong way to say it, but I’ve no other way to word it. By the time you receive this letter, I’ll likely have visited her, I have the time after all. I have always liked your mother, perhaps that was a sign of some sort.

I’m trying to keep any, hostility, from this letter, considering the news. I, wish things had gone differently, I still do, though I know it won’t make it so. I can safely say the anger is mostly abated at this moment. Really, I’m just, sad, I suppose. I never did like an empty home, and that’s really all I have. My friends were all your friends, and it seems I lost them in the split. Strange to realize that I never had friends of my own, and seemingly they all appear to think I’m a horrible person for being angry at you. I don’t get it personally, what did any of you that knew what was happening expect? I mean, I’ve never been one to hate a person, but I hate that, man, you’re with. He has an infantile grasp on language, the one time I’ve met him, he came with the movers you know, he acted as if you were a prize.

Who does that? Who does that to a person, that just had their world torn apart?

Now I have news that a person I’ve known all my life, or a large enough portion of it, is dying. It’s terminal and she has months to live, and it’s one thing after another.

So, it seems I rather failed at keeping the hostility out of the letter, maybe I’ll send a different one, and just keep this one for myself, but that would be rather like lying, or leaving a post it note with call me on it. (Yes, that was in reference to your actions, so perhaps the anger isn’t totally gone, but well, I can’t say I blame myself for this.)

As it stands though, despite my anger at this situation, despite what you’ve done. I’ll be there for your mother, and should you need it, I’ll help you with anything you need help with.

I won’t however submit myself to the presence of that asshole, yes, asshole, you decided was more fitting. It makes me wonder though, if that’s what you wanted in a man, how lacking was I in our relationship? No accounting for taste I suppose, apologies are to be extended however, as this letter has become exceedingly rude. It wasn’t my intention when I started writing it, but well, here it is. You however understand quite well my view on the worth of an apology, so perhaps even this final bit is rude.

Sincerely,

Elliot S. Jacobs

P.S. While I’ll be around your mother when I can if I’m not there when something happens please call me my number is (555)-275-000. Really I am, well, Lyn has always been kind to me, I’ll do whatever I can for her in this time and I mean that, truly I do. I’m sorry that this comes after what is perhaps one of the rudest letters I’ve ever written but, I felt it should be said. You know the schools number, call that during school hours if something happens, please.

 

 

Leave a Reply

